Rila seven lakes – or Седемте рилски езера (sedemte rilski ezera).

Located in northwestern Rila Mountains in Bulgaria, they are a group of lakes of glacial origin. Maybe the most visited group of lakes in Bulgaria. The Rila seven lakes are located between 2.100 and 2.500 metres above sea level. So you have to be prepared to go there. Think about some tips.


rila seven lakes


Each of all Rila seven lakes carries a name.

That name is associated with its most characteristic feature. You can see the table under with more details. But lets see:

Salzata – The tear – highest one.
Okoto – The Eye – perfect oval form.
Babreka – The Kidney – steepest shores of the entire group.
Bliznaka – The twin – largest one by area.
Tirlistnika – The Trefoil – irregular shape and low shores.
Ribnoto Ezero – The fish lake.
Dolnoto Ezero – The lower Lake.


English nameBulgarian nameAltitude (m)Depth (m)
The TearСълзата (Salzata)2.5354.5
The EyeОкото (Okoto)2.44037.5
The KidneyБъбрека (Babreka)2.28228.0
The TwinБлизнака (Bliznaka)2.24327.5
The TrefoilТрилистника (Trilistnika)2.2166.5
Fish lakeРибното езеро (ribno ezero)2.1842.5
The lower lakeДолното езеро2.09511.0


rila seven lakes



Rila seven lakes are attraction in Bulgaria for tourist, because of its natural environment.

You can sea, that the lakes are located one above the other, connected by small streams. They also form waterfalls and cascades. The most common time to come and see the lakes is in the summer – July and August. As you can understand that, the weather in the other time of the year is not so friendly. Sometimes in October, the Rila seven lakes can freeze and don’t melt before June. Ice cover can reach up to 2 meters. You can go sliding if you want, but the lakes are more beautiful in summer time.

RilaSevenLakes.info © 2017 Frontier Theme